The Registrar and Chief Executive Officer, Medical Laboratory Science Council of Nigeria
(MLSCN), Dr Tosan Erhabor has assured that the Council would continue to scale up the
standard of training available to aspiring Medical Laboratory Scientists in the country.
The Registrar gave the assurance while inaugurating the MLSCN Ad hoc Committee on
Education recently, in Abuja. According to him, the committee, chaired by Prof. M.F
Useh from the University of Calabar, comprises of eminent Medical Laboratory
Scientists and academics drawn from various universities across the country to fill the
gap created by the dissolution of the 6 th Governing Board of MLSCN. This, he noted, was
sequel to the approval of the Federal Ministry of Health.
“You have all been carefully selected to help us strengthen our processes, based on your
wealth of experience and previous contributions to the growth of the Medical
Laboratory Science profession. You may also have noticed the geographical spread as
well as gender balance in the membership of the committee which, we hope, would give
all stakeholders a sense of belonging. Therefore, I urge you to draw on your wealth of
experience to proffer solutions to the myriad of issues already waiting for your
attention,” he said.
Furthermore, he noted: “This ad hoc committee would be looking at issues of
examination, release of results, accreditation visits, resource verification and
reaccreditation of training institutions. They would also be looking at those facilities that
also want to train intern Medical Laboratory Scientists.”
Responding, the committee chairman, Prof Useh, expressed appreciation to the MLSCN
Management for the confidence reposed in the members of the committee, assuring
that they would not disappoint the Council. He, however, encouraged the Council to
continue to reinforce its regulatory capacity in view of the huge responsibility on its
shoulders, considering the number of universities either offering or seeking to offer the
Medical Laboratory Science program. Other members of the committee include: Prof.
Eugene Ikeh from University of Jos; Prof G.N Ghali – University of Maiduguri; Dr Shola
Olalekan – University of Lagos; Alhaji Abubakar Abdullahi from Jigawa; and Prof E. Osime

  • University of Benin

Corporate Affairs Department